Why I Write This Blog

Good morning. Other than another excuse to miss my morning time with Yahweh (God), or to waste time on the computer, this blog does have a few good reasons backing it up.

First, this is a chance to publicly express important things that are on my mind. Proverbs 31:8-9 reads as follows in different versions:

¨Open thy mouth for the dumb in the cause of all such as are appointed to destruction. Open thy mouth, judge righteously, and plead the cause of the poor and needy.¨ (KJV) …or…

¨Speak up for those who cannot speak for themselves;
ensure justice for those being crushed.
Yes, speak up for the poor and helpless,
and see that they get justice.¨ (NLT)…or…

¨But you must defend

those who are helpless

and have no hope.

Be fair and give justice

to the poor and homeless.¨ (CEV)

In other words, someone who claims they know Yahweh, such as myself, must speak up against tyranny, against a dearth of social justice such as we see on Turtle Island with its´ slide: the 2 nations quickly on their way to becoming police states. Of course, from Day One, when the Europeans set foot on this continent, there has been no justice for the indigenous peoples here. The same goes for Central and South America. The Europeans simply left one form of oppression to establish another one on this huge island.

Here we are centuries later, with the oppression getting worse, not only for First Nations, but for a host of other groups. Surprisingly, freedom and basic human rights are also being eroded for that group of people who have contributed so much to the harsh climate against indigenous peoples. I´m speaking of the quickly-evaporating Middle Class, the abode of my youth.

So this blog is an attempt to salve my conscience by allowing me a forum, a platform, to speak out against the injustices I see in this society, and to also promote what I believe to be possible solutions. I´m not claiming to be God here, or to have all the answers. But I do believe that the powers-that-be would like to silence all dissent, or, not being able to do so, at least to marginalise voices that question the authority of governments, churches and corporations. So speak out we shall, whether it´s popular or not.

Other reasons for this blog are more self-centred: to improve my writing skills in hopes of penning (keyboarding???) some heftier literary works in the future, to inform family and friends, fans and detractors, what is going on in this pea brain of mine, and to burn up the wee hours of the night when I can´t sleep.

Thank you, reader, for being part of this soon-to-be-amazing journey. I promise I won´t disappoint you. Please drop me a line if you´re ever in town, or have any feedback: dimitri.pradvin AT mail.ru.

Cheers,

Dimitri

Check out some more related verses lifted from the Sacred Scriptures:

Deuteronomy 15:7 If there is a poor man among your brothers in any of the towns of the land that the LORD your God is giving you, do not be hardhearted or tightfisted toward your poor brother.

Job 29:12 because I rescued the poor who cried for help, and the fatherless who had none to assist him.

Job 29:16 I was a father to the needy; I took up the case of the stranger.

Psalm 82:4 Rescue the weak and needy; deliver them from the hand of the wicked.

Proverbs 14:31 He who oppresses the poor shows contempt for their Maker, but whoever is kind to the needy honours God.

Proverbs 21:13 If a man shuts his ears to the cry of the poor, he too will cry out and not be answered.

Proverbs 24:11-12 Rescue those being led away to death; hold back those staggering toward slaughter. If you say, “But we knew nothing about this,” does not he who weighs the heart perceive it? Does not he who guards your life know it? Will he not repay each person according to what he has done?

Proverbs 29:7 The righteous care about justice for the poor, but the wicked have no such concern.

Proverbs 31:9 Speak up and judge fairly; defend the rights of the poor and needy.

Isaiah 58:6-7 Is not this the kind of fasting I have chosen: to loose the chains of injustice and untie the cords of the yoke, to set the oppressed free and break every yoke? Is it not to share your food with the hungry and to provide the poor wanderer with shelter–when you see the naked, to clothe him, and not to turn away from your own flesh and blood?

Matthew 25:35-36 For I was hungry and you gave me something to eat, I was thirsty and you gave me something to drink, I was a stranger and you invited me in, I needed clothes and you clothed me, I was sick and you looked after me, I was in prison and you came to visit me.

Luke 3:11 John answered, “The man with two tunics should share with him who has none, and the one who has food should do the same.”

James 2:12-17 Speak and act as those who are going to be judged by the law that gives freedom, because judgment without mercy will be shown to anyone who has not been merciful. Mercy triumphs over judgment! What good is it, my brothers, if a man claims to have faith but has no deeds? Can such faith save him? Suppose a brother or sister is without clothes and daily food. If one of you says to him, “Go, I wish you well; keep warm and well fed,” but does nothing about his physical needs, what good is it? In the same way, faith by itself, if it is not accompanied by action, is dead.

1 John 3:17 If anyone has material possessions and sees his brother in need but has no pity on him, how can the love of God be in him?

1 John 4:20 If anyone says, “I love God,” yet hates his brother, he is a liar. For anyone who does not love his brother, whom he has seen, cannot love God, whom he has not seen.

– all are NIV 84

About sleepless in turtle island

Hi, I´m Dimitri. I have lived in Turtle Island for awhile now, so my cultural understanding is slowly improving. Also, I can see things in this place that boggle my mind. Thus this blog...
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

