Hope Is What Keeps Us Humans Alive

Hi all, I haven´t posted in a while.

Sorry, but I´ve been too busy working F/T and studying for a test that will get me a license to sell insurance, mortgages and investments in North Turtle Island (or NTI, which is Canada).  Studying day and night, coz I´m tiring of facing poverty.  I also have been getting my financial house in order this past year.  Having an Asian wife who constantly kicks my apps really helps.  Anyways, I have been busy, busy, busy.

But here is a post about one of my favourite themes: HOPE.  Now I have been depressed and even suicidal in the past, especially when moving back to North Turtle Island.  Why?  Coz I know that my corner of NTI is the most expensive in the whole TI.  And the salaries here suck.  Especially in my field where I have worked since the early 90s.  My salary now is the same as back in 1995.

And the system in Turtle Island seemed to me to be getting quite fascist.  Yes, I´m not joking.  I come back from living in a Communist country where the people treat me like a celebrity (probably coz I´m Western and from ¨rich¨ North Turtle Island), and return here to a place where my skills and languages (4 of ´em) don´t really count much.  A place where we constantly vote for damned right-wing parties who are the fake conservatives of our generation.  ¨Fake¨ meaning that they mask as Money Savers, and pretend to do so by cutting needed programs etc that actually help people, and, oh yeah, overtax the Middle Class.  At the same time they kiss the butts of corporations and stock holders, and cut taxes to the rich.

That´s you, Mr. Bush and Mr. Cheney in the US.  And your buddy Obama is pretending to rally for the poor and Middle Class while actually STILL kissing the derrieres of the rich.  And in my country of NTI, we have the spend-hardy Conservatives led by Stephen Harper.  They suck up to their rich buddies in the oil industry etc. and pretend to be the Voting Man and Woman´s friend.  They spend money like it´s water.  Remember the 65 fighter jets that are estimated to cost $25 billion over the long run?  I will be glad to see their sorry apples kicked right out of office in a couple years, and I will assist anyone who attempts to do so.  I love my country, but my fellow countrymen and women really need to wake up.

So I figured that job prospects and everything else here wouldn´t be so good.  And I had such great friends and a constant adrenaline rush living in the dynamic 20 million people city in Asia.  Hopes for a great future.  But here, hopes for living beside farmers and yuppies.  Nothing against farmers.  I am a part-time farmer now that my Old Man is too feeble to take care of his farm.  Yuppies, well, I can relate to them but I am not always fond of ´em.  But they are my customers and future co-religionists in Messianism, so I had better learn to love´em.

Back to HOPE.  Yes, facing all this pooh-pooh led me a couple times to stay at home, watch a million DVDs, eat, eat, eat, gain 40 pounds and watch my skin turn pasty white.  Once in 2009 and again last year.  I even got to the point where there were scary thought in my head, ¨Hey buddy, just go and jump off the new bridge.  Go end it.¨  I don´t know about you, but when this happens, I freak.  I also get off my chubby twin towers and do something about it.  Do or die.

So a few times in life I have WILLED MYSELF OUT OF DEPRESSION.  In Chinese, there is a proverb: WHEN YOU HIT THE VERY BOTTOM, YOU BOUNCE BACK AGAIN.  And that is what is happened to me.  I saw that I was in an extremely frightening place – thinking of taking my own life – and went to work to save my own life.  The enemy: those disgusting thoughts in my head.  Their source: lack of hope.

Lack of hope.  That´s what keeps a homeless man sleeping under a piece of cardboard in a store doorway.  That´s what has been pushing First Nations young men to commit to a suicide pact as a team, and all members kill themselves one after another in one week´s time.  I met a missionary to Northern British Columbia one time who told me it was his ministry to clean up blood from the floor, since he didn´t want any of the grieving relatives to do it.  It is lack of hope that drives a man to drink, drink, drink.  And maybe to beat his wife and kids.

It is a lack of hope that keeps people voting for idiots who destroy our nation, home state or province, and our city/town.  It is a lack of hope that causes people to watch TV, computer, tablet and cell phone screens day and night, escaping reality into a HyperWorld.  It is lack of hope that pushes young people into the gangs who promise security and brotherhood, while they steal, kill and destroy.

HOPE.  Where can we find it?  Well, I don´t want to get all religious on y´all, especially knowing that there are a lot of Bill Maher fans out there.  But ultimate hope is found in Yah and His Son Yeshua.  But you can check my other posts labelled ¨Messianism¨ for that.

Hope.  Rather than me telling you what it is, let´s check out a few famous quotes about it:

Various Quotes on Hope:

We must accept finite disappointment, but never lose infinite hope.  Martin Luther King, Jr.

The hope of a secure and livable world lies with disciplined nonconformists who are dedicated to justice, peace and brotherhood.    Martin Luther King, Jr.

Hope is some extraordinary spiritual grace that Yah gives us to control our fears, not to oust them. Vincent McNabb

When the world says, “Give up,”
Hope whispers, “Try it one more time.”  Author Unknown

The miserable have no other medicine
But only hope.      William Shakespeare, Measure for Measure

You’ve gotta have hope.  Without hope life is meaningless.  Without hope life is meaning less and less.  Author Unknown

The rich are always going to say that, you know, just give us more money and we’ll go out and spend more and then it will all trickle down to the rest of you. But that has not worked the last 10 years, and I hope the American public is catching on.   Warren Buffett

Hope is the dream of a waking man. Aristotle

Courage is like love: it must have hope for nourishment.  Napoleon Bonaparte

– quotes from Quote Garden and Brainy Quotes.

Sacred Scriptures on Hope:

LORD, you know the hopes of the helpless. Surely you will hear their cries and comfort them. Psalm 10:17 (NLT)

When doubts filled my mind, your comfort gave me renewed hope and cheer. Psalm 94:19 (NLT)

The unfailing love of the LORD never ends! By his mercies we have been kept from complete destruction. Great is his faithfulness; his mercies begin afresh each day. I say to myself, “The LORD is my inheritance; therefore, I will hope in him!” Lamentations 3:22-24 (NASB)

For whatever was written in former days was written for our instruction, that through endurance and through the encouragement of the Scriptures we might have hope . . . May the God of hope fill you with all joy and peace in believing, so that by the power of the Holy Spirit you may abound in hope. Romans 15:4, 13(ESV)

Now may our Lord Jesus Christ himself and God our Father, who loved us and by his grace gave us eternal comfort and a wonderful hope, comfort you and strengthen you in every good thing you do and say. 2 Thessalonians 2:16–17 (NLT)

Hope, Hope, Hope, Lovely Hope, Powerful Hope

Well, I could keep quoting till the cows come home, but I won´t.  The crux of the matter is: hope is important.  Hope is the dream of a better future.  Today may suck big time, but tomorrow can be better.  But, of course, you cannot sit like a couch potato at home and expect hope to materialise.  You have to work hard for it.  You have to GOYA (get off your *ss) to make it work.  (Awesome article on the art of GOYA here). Action is fed by hope, and action in turn creates hope.  Hope and action are wife and husband, inseparable, or as the Chinese say ¨Grow old together till the hairs all turn white¨.

The other aspect of hope is that it must be REAL.  There is a lot of false hope being peddled to the masses throughout the world.  This is the Matrix.  These are the Pipe Dreams, the lies that masquerade as genuine hope.  And they always disappoint, always lead to depression.

The 2008 economic crisis was reportedly caused in part by hucksters selling houses to those who couldn´t afford the mortgage payments in places like Detroit.  These loans were bundled up and sold to the highest bidder.  People defaulted, and the system crashed.  At least that is what THEY say, whoever the Heck ¨they¨ are.

False hope is Bush: I will build a great America and beat the Terrorists while I´m at it.  I will not be a puppet for the Evil Mr. Cheney.  I am independent, even though I am only a fumbling, bumbling yet charming mouth piece for the Fortune 500.

False hope is Obama: I will bring in justice and a great health care system.  I will keep the Republicans at bay.   I will not represent the Chicago Establishment.  I will bring in a hope that you are audacious to believe in.

False hope is Harper:  I will re-create a great Canada, save money, reconcile with the First Nations, make immigrants happy and sell what we dig up from underground to the highest bidder.  And guns are good.  I am not working for all those American expats in my hometown of Calgary, oh no.  I am not a Republican disguised as a Canadian populist.

You can tell I´m not a fan of politicians, no matter the stripe.  Well, there are a few I like.  Problem is, they seldom get elected.  If Naomi Klein, or Tom Morello, or Michael Franti, or someone of that kilt jumps on to my ballot sheet, I would probably vote for them.

And religious wise, I think you can have hope whatever religion you have.  Some religions or lack thereof dampen and kill hope, that´s true.  But I find people can get hope no matter what their Meta-Narrative or lack thereof is.

For me, my personal belief is that Yah and His Son Yeshua are the only way, but there are scarce few who represent this on the planet.  I also believe in the Level Playing Field where all of us, whatever the belief, can freely and in a friendly not hostile manner, debate and learn from each other.  I won´t push my belief of you, but of course I will use my skill and rhetoric to convince you.  You can take it or leave it.

And the same goes from you to me: try to persuade, please.  I may not accept the Full Meal Deal, but I can learn from you.  I have already learned tons from Capitalists, Communists, Muslims, Mormons, Buddhists, Zoroastrians, Hindus, Sikhs, atheists, agnostics, Deists, Mama Mia-ists, etc.  And I am a Messianist, by the way.  Nothing you will find through Google though.  We have just started, but our numbers are sure to grow, through Yah´s strength and favour.  Check it out in other posts.

So there you have it, folks, go get some hope.  Real hope.  Hope based on Reality.

The Characteristics of Real Hope

Genuine Hope . . .

– is something you can experience with your 5 senses: taste, touch, smell, see and hear

– will not violate your conscience nor your common sense

– needs to be researched and arrived at logically

– is something you can share with your family, friends, community, nation

– never violates the human rights of others

– is based on loving your neighbour as you love yourself

– pays attention to history and how the present situation developed over the past few years

– is not showy, pretentious, lustful or mean

– is findable

I won´t keep rambling.  Ramble may make another movie; is it true, Sylvester?

yah bless y´all,

Dimitri

About sleepless in turtle island

Hi, I´m Dimitri. I have lived in Turtle Island for awhile now, so my cultural understanding is slowly improving. Also, I can see things in this place that boggle my mind. Thus this blog...
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

