Weep for Canada (North Turtle Island)

I had a choice at lunch hour today: either go into a room in my office to quietly weep by myself, or to go to my work computer while my colleagues are in the staff lunch room eating, and blog about my feelings.

Well, let me tell you, IT IS TIME FOR CANADIANS TO STOP SILENTLY GRIEVING ABOUT THE BULL~~~ ALL AROUND, AND START REVVING UP FOR ACTION.

I came back from living in Beijing, China, last year in March.  It was my 3rd return to Canada.  I fell into a 2 month depression, because I knew the shart I would see all around me.

After getting out of that Oh-So-Evil situational depression, I became my old self again and decided to do something about my own life and the lives of those around me.

I keep thinking about this quote, from the movie 10,000 BC:

“A good man draws a circle around himself and cares for those within: his woman, his children. 

Other men draw a larger circle and bring within their brothers and sisters. 


But some men have a great destiny. They must draw around themselves a circle that includes many, many more. Your father was one of those men. You must decide for yourself whether you are, as well.”

– Tic’Tic (Cliff Curtis) to D’Leh (Steven Strait)

AN ALTERNATE VERSION sounds pretty good too:

“A good man draws a circle around him, and in it he cares for his family, his wife and children.  

great man draws a larger circle including his brothers, his friends, and protects them as he would his family. 

But then there is the rare man who has a special destiny. His circle extends beyond boundaries to include the world of innocents who lack the will to defend themselves.” 

Well, I am determined to be this RARE man, even though I am conscious that I am a loser deep down.  Whatever, losers can kick the shart out of the evil in this world like anyone else.  Maybe even better, coz we have studied in the School of Hard Knocks.

Here are some reasons why I weep, and maybe I can let a few manly tears flow down, since my co-workers are now in the Lunch Room:

1. Canadian Experience demanded of immigrants by out-of-date Canadian employers

Why?  I figure it is simply to scale down on the possible hiring pool by only accepting YOUR OWN PEOPLE.  So what ends up happening is:

– Euros hire Euros, Chinese hire Chinese, Punjabis hire Punjabis, Persians hire Persians, Mexicans hire Mexicans, Philipinos hire Philipinos, etc.  

Here is my response to all that:

I sent an email around at my office and to my clients:

2012 – the year Canadian employers stop demanding Canadian experience! 

What a wonderful time it is! Spread the news! And please let Canadian employers know! 

Cheers,
Dimitri

…along with this poster:

And here is one response from a client:

Hi, Dimitri:

Is this a new regulation from government?

If it is, then it is GREAT !!

Canadian experience requirement is a stupid rule for the local employers.  This is 21st century and it requires world experience, instead of just limit to Canadian experience !!!

The government demands more labours, more immigrants but actually local employers only want people with “Canadian experience” !!! I can’t believe that Vancouver is still same conservative as 10 years ago.  This is a serious problem and a HUGE GAP between government and employers in reality!!!

Changes are NEEDED !!

 BR,

Janice [name changed for security]

The Revolution is starting!  I would like to make a BIG STINK out of this issue over the coming months.

And, how about Canadian employers start demanding international experience!

2.Foolish, money-hungry Canadian universities, colleges, technical institutes collecting from poor (& not-so-poor) students and their parents

As an Employment Counsellor, of course I meet all the “sick” people much like a doctor does.  That is, the unemployed.  But this gives me a rare insight into how BROKEN the system really is.  

BCIT, SFU, UBC, UFV, Kwantlen, Douglas, Royal Roads, Thompson Rivers, UNBC, etc are RIPPING OFF students.

How?  They are happy to get your $.  When you are about to graduate, all of them except the odd professor with a conscience (are there any out there???), just turf the student on the street and say, “Good Luck, Sucker!”

80 grand, 4 years.  All wasted.  You are lining up for the McDonald’s job that the 16 year old high school drop out can easily get.

Heavy debt.  Heavy heart.  No matter: you PARTIED for 4 years, that’s $20,000 per year of partying!  So worth it!

I have a friend who spent a couple years at a local Tech Institute, with an “awesome” degree, and he hasn’t been able to find work for over a year.  He even went overseas, only to find that the weather was an oven, and the locals preferred white hires and no one else.  Well, what’s he going to do?  Start growing marijuana in his basement?  Begin selling machine guns to gangs?  Join a gang himself?  Crap, what’s up with this country?

Here’s an article about these screwed up universities and the Education System that is ever so much becoming like one helluva Matrix.  I have yet to compete with the great article.  Hopefully I will be able to write more extensively, and challenge those Bifteks at BCIT, SFU, UBC, UFV, Kwantlen, Douglas, Royal Roads, Thompson Rivers, UNBC, etc. who are cheating my friends and neighbours.  Here we go:  

University has become an unaffordable luxury

or “Reasons Not To Go To University”

Yep, it is SSSSSSSSSSSSSOOOOOOOOOOOOOOO true!  More about this topic later, Yah willing.  (I’m willing, that’s for sure!)


3.Vancouver cop shoots an unarmed man on Granville Street in August 2007 – 6+ times!

A new eyewitness video has appeared about this case:

The Bifteks at VPD!  Maybe some of these trigger-happy cops should stop making excuses and confess their murders, or face being tried in court and put away for manslaughter!


Who is going to protect us normal citizens from the brutality of the city police and RCMP?  Who is going to blame the person who finds a way to successfully resist the cops and escape?  Dang Nabbit, what kind of a police state are we living in?

And who is training these wimps to fight?  Learn some Bruce Lee Kungfu, you chicken-shart cops, and stop relying on your technology – your cursed guns and tasers, etc.  You cowards!

See article here.


Paul Boyd – RIP – murdered simply for being Bipolar at the wrong place and time!


4.It took University of BC 70 years to finally issue WWII-interned Japanese-Canadians their university degrees!

ETC………………………

I could go on and on and on . . . The newspapers are FULL of our nation’s sins!

WEEP FOR YOUR COUNTRY, PEOPLE!

THEN GET OFF YOU SOFAS AND DO SOMETHING!

Cheers,

An angry Dimitri

About sleepless in turtle island

Hi, I´m Dimitri. I have lived in Turtle Island for awhile now, so my cultural understanding is slowly improving. Also, I can see things in this place that boggle my mind. Thus this blog...
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

