The Torture Victim: A POEM

A friend of mine told me how his government had tortured him simply for being from an ethnic group other than the majority in his country.  They told him he was “against God”.  I wonder, who represents God here? 


This poem is for all torture victims.  

To forgive or not to forgive, that is the question.  

We’ll let Yah take care of the Vengeance Part . . . 

canadian soldier torturing somali boy in 1993


U tortured me, U Biftek*

U victimised me, U son of Hell.


Power was in your hand,

Dirt in your mind,

A stone in your chest.


Your tools of darkness

Plunged into my flesh,

Plunged me into the Abyss.


U laughed, U mocked

U shouted, U forced

 

Did U get what U wanted, Cain?

Was ur sick mind placated, Lucifer?

Then up with U!  Tell me, will U . . . 

 

                  go to Hell 4ever, where U will . . .

                               burn, 

 

                                         w/weeping & gnashing

                                                                           of teeth?


Father, forgive the Biftek,

He knows not

what flood he releases . . . 

*Biftek = a polite word for “Bastard”

© Dimitri Pravdin, 2012

David Parker Ray’s torture chamber in New Mexico, USA

About sleepless in turtle island

Hi, I´m Dimitri. I have lived in Turtle Island for awhile now, so my cultural understanding is slowly improving. Also, I can see things in this place that boggle my mind. Thus this blog...
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

