Diva-Lovers of the World, Unite! – Part 2 – Sinéad O’Connor (Ireland)

When I was finishing up my university in the late 1980s, this lady thrilled and chilled me: 

SINÉAD O’CONNOR.

What a Diva!  I remember buying her tape and playing it over and over, especially these songs:

NOTHING COMPARES 2 U – PRINCE

It’s been seven hours and fifteen days
Since you took your love away
I go out every night and sleep all day
Since you took your love away
Since you’ve been gone I can do whatever I want
I can see whomever I choose
I can eat my dinner in a fancy restaurant
But nothing
I said nothing can take away these blues,
‘Cause nothing compares
Nothing compares to you
It’s been so lonely without you here
Like a bird without a song
Nothing can stop these lonely tears from falling
Tell me baby where did I go wrong?
I could put my arms round every boy I see
But they’d only remind me of you
I went to the doctor guess what he told me
Guess what he told me
He said girl you better try to have fun
No matter what you do
But he’s a fool
‘Cause nothing compares
Nothing compares to you
All the flowers that you planted mother
In the backyard
All died when you went away
I know that living with you, baby, was sometimes hard
But I’m willing to give it another try
Nothing compares
Nothing compares to you (3x)


Here’s even the Hawaiian language version:

And a heavy metal version:

Well, if a girl can stand up to Bullies as she has, she should be honoured.  Here’s a chunk of Wikipedia on her brave acts:

REFUSING TO SING THE US NATIONAL ANTHEM

Also in 1990, she was criticized after she announced that she would not perform if the United States national anthem was played before one of her concerts. Frank Sinatra threatened to “kick her ass”.[7] After receiving 4 Grammy Award nominations she withdrew her name from consideration.[7]

and

TEARING UP THE POPE’S PHOTO ON SATURDAY NIGHT LIVE, IN PROTEST AGAINST CATHOLIC PRIEST CHILD ABUSE 

On 3 October 1992, O’Connor appeared on Saturday Night Live as a musical guest. She sang an a cappella version of Bob Marley‘s “War“, which she intended as a protest over thesexual abuse in the Roman Catholic Church, by changing the lyric “racism” to “child abuse.”[25] She then presented a photo of Pope John Paul II to the camera while singing the word “evil“, after which she tore the photo into pieces, said “Fight the real enemy”, and threw the pieces towards the camera.[26]

AND THE AFTERMATH: A nationwide audience saw O’Connor’s live performance, which the New York Daily News‘s cover called a “HOLY TERROR”.[27] NBC received more than 500 calls on Sunday[29] and 400 more on Monday, with all but seven criticizing O’Connor;[28] the network received 4,400 calls in total.[30]
In a 1993 issue of The Irish Times O’Connor wrote a public letter where she asked people to “stop hurting” her.

JOB PESCI’S REVENGE ON SNL: As part of SNL‘s apology to the audience, during his opening monologue the following week, host Joe Pesci held up the photo, explaining that he had taped it back together. He then tore up another photo – of O’Connor herself – to huge applause. Pesci also said that if it had been his show, “I would have gave her such a smack.”[32]
In a 2002 interview with Salon, when asked if she would change anything about the SNL appearance, O’Connor replied, “Hell, no!”[33] In 2010, TV Guide Network listed the incident at No. 24 on their list of 25 Biggest TV Blunders.[34]

PERSECUTED 2 WEEKS LATER: Two weeks after the Saturday Night Live appearance, she was set to perform “I Believe in You” at the Bob Dylan 30th Anniversary tribute concert in Madison Square Garden.[39] She was greeted by a thundering mixture of cheers and jeers. During the booing, Kris Kristofferson told her not to “let the bastards get you down”, to which she replied, “I’m not down.”[40][41] The noise eventually became so loud that O’Connor saw no point in starting the scheduled song. She called for the keyboard player to stop and the microphone to be turned up, and then screamed over the audience with an improvised, shouted rendition of “War”.[42] This time, she sang the song, stopping just after the part in which the lyrics talk about child abuse, emphasizing the point of her previous action. She then looked straight to the audience for a second and left the stage. Kristofferson then comforted her, as she cried.[43][44]

NEARLY 20 YEARS LATER, STILL PROTESTING THE R.C. CHURCH’S SEXUAL ABUSE: On 26 March 2010, O’Connor appeared on Anderson Cooper 360° to speak out about the Catholic sexual abuse scandal in Ireland.[67] On 28 March 2010, she had an opinion piece published in the Sunday Edition of theWashington Post where she wrote about the Catholic sex abuse scandal and her time in a Magdalene laundry as a teenager.[3] She wrote an article for the Sunday Independent newspaper of 17 July 2011 in response to thesexual abuse scandal in Cloyne diocese in which she described the Vatican as “a nest of devils”. She wrote that an alternative church might have to be established because “Christ is being murdered by liars” in the Vatican.[68]

Wow, what an absolutely COURAGEOUS woman!

Here’s a more recent song from her latest album, How About I Be Me (And You Be You)?: THE WOLF IS GETTING MARRIED

I used to have no wolves around me
I was too free, if that’s possible to be
No safety, is what I mean
No solid foundation to keep me

But the sun’s peeping out of the sky
Where there used to be only gray
The wolf is getting married
and he’ll never cry again

Your smile makes me smile
Your laugh makes me laugh
Your joy gives me joy
your hope gives me hope

And the sun’s peeping out of the sky
Where there used to be only gray
The wolf is getting married
and he’ll never cry again

Never cry again

Even if something terrible is happening
you laugh and that’s the thing I loive about you most, yeah X2

Your smile makes me smile
Your laugh makes me laugh
Your joy gives me joy
your hope gives me hope

And the sun’s peeping out of the sky
Where there used to be only gray
The wolf is getting married
and he’ll never cry again

And what another Youtuber describes as a “REAL PROTEST SONG”,

TAKE OFF YOUR SHOES: 

I bleed the blood of Jesus over you,
I bleed the blood of Jesus over you,
And over every fucking thing you do.
Seven times I bleed the blood of Jesus over you.
Take off your shoes–you’re on hallowed ground,
Take off your shoes–you’re on hallowed ground.
Even you can’t lie when I’m around.
Take off your shoes–you’re on hallowed ground.
Behold, at the last lamplight,
At the very end of your street,
I’m whispering something,
“Come closer to Me, Come closer to Me.”
I say you’re running out of battery,
You’re running out of battery,
And I don’t see no bunny
Around here.
If you believed at all in your breviary,
If you believed even in just the ghost of Me,
You wouldn’t now be so surprised to see Me.
In vanity you took the name of Me.
You brought Me into infamy.
And now you’re so surprised to see Me,
And now you’re so surprised to see Me.
Behold, at the last lamplight,
At the very end of your street,
I’m whispering something,
“Come closer to Me,
Come closer to Me.”
I say you’re running out of battery,
You’re running out of battery,
And I don’t see no bunny
Around here.
Take off your shoes–you’re on hallowed ground,
Take off your shoes–you’re on hallowed ground.
Even you can’t lie when I’m around.
Take off your shoes–you’re on hallowed ground.
Take off your shoes–you’re on hallowed ground.
Take off your shoes–you’re on hallowed ground.
Even you can’t lie when I’m around.
Take off your shoes–you’re on hallowed ground.

THE TECHNO VERSION: 

I am so impressed!  It’s takes a lot of guts to stand up to the Vatican!  Good on ya, mate!

Cheers to y’all and to Sinéad,

Dimitri

dimitri.pravdin(*a*)mail.ru

3 ^ a b “To Sinead O’Connor, the pope’s apology for sex abuse in Ireland seems hollow”The Washington Post. 28 March 2010.

a b c Allmusic bio

25 ^ a b c Tapper, Jake (12 October 2002). “Sinéad was right”Arts & Entertainment (Salon.com). Retrieved 24 October 2006.

26 ^ “Simulating Sinéad O’Connor— Sinéad O’Connor Rips It Up”Vol. 33 (NOT BORED!): pp. ISSN 1084-7340. 2001-10. Retrieved 24 October 2006.

27 ^ a b c “Saturday Night Live Backstage”. 2011-02-20. NBC.

28 ^ a b “Sinead calls still coming in”. Spartanburg Herald-Journal. 6 October 1992. pp. A2. Retrieved 11 March 2011.

29 ^ “Singer rips pope, shocks audience”. The Spokesman-Review. 5 October 1992. pp. A4. Retrieved 11 March 2011.

30 ^ a b c Hinckley, David (14 March 2005). “SENTIMENTS OF THE MOMENT. THE WORLD ACCORDING TO SINEAD O’CONNOR, 1992”. New York Daily News. Retrieved 11 March 2011.

31^ “O’Connor draws criticism, pity”. Associated Press. 6 October 1992. Retrieved 11 March 2011.

32 ^ Brozan, Nadine (12 October 1992). “nytimes.com”. New York Times. Retrieved 28 September 2011.

33 ^ Tapper, Jake. “Salon.com”. Dir.salon.com. Retrieved 28 September 2011.

34 ^ “Breaking News – TV Guide Network’s “25 Biggest TV Blunders” Special Delivers 3.3 Million Viewers”. thefutoncritic.com. 2 March 2010. Retrieved 10 March 2010.

39 ^ Ian Inglis. Performance and Popular Music: History Place and Time. ch. 15: The Booing of Sinéad O’Connor: Bob Dylan 30th Anniversary Concert, Madison Square Garden, New York, 16 October 1992 by Emma Mayhew^

40 ^ Mapes, Jillian; Jason Lipshutz (26 March 2011). “20 Memorable Musician Meltdowns”BillboardPrometheus Global Media. p. 5. Retrieved 22 August 2011.

41 ^ Kris Kristofferson, Sinéad O’Connor, Miriam O’Callaghan (12 August 2010). Kris Kristofferson on his special relationship with Sinéad O’ConnorRTÉ. Retrieved 22 August 2011.

42^ Quid Nunc (March 28, 2010). “Sinead: ’18 years ago I tore up a picture of the Pope on “Saturday Night Live” maybe Americans can understand why now'”UnfreeMedia. Citizen Media Law Project. Retrieved June 09, 2012.

43 ^ “Sinead O’Connor’s 5 Most Memorable Moments (Video)”The Hollywood ReporterYahoo! TV. 11 August 2011. Retrieved 22 August 2011.

44 ^ Sinead O’Connor – Bob Dylan Tribute (1992)YouTube. 16 October 1992. Retrieved 22 August 2011.

67 ^ “CNN.com Video”CNN

68 ^ We must destroy nest of devils in the Vatican, for Christ’s sake Sunday Independent, 17 July 2011.



About sleepless in turtle island

Hi, I´m Dimitri. I have lived in Turtle Island for awhile now, so my cultural understanding is slowly improving. Also, I can see things in this place that boggle my mind. Thus this blog...
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

