Shallow Waters sung by Ta’Kaiya Blaney

Shallow Waters: Ta’Kaiya Blaney and Aileen De La Cruz

Verse 1

In shallow waters, I can’t see

Your clear waves lapping at my feet

The lifeless ocean, black not blue

I didn’t help but deep down I knew

Verse 2

In shallow waters I used to see

Dolphins playing in front of me

Seaweed swaying, keeping time

Tidal rhythms laugh not cry

Pre Chorus

Oh/oh Why do tears fall from the sky?

On/oh Have we given up, please tell me why?

Chorus

Remember the salty ocean breeze,

We used to build castles on the beach,

Splashing around in the summer heat

Now it’s just oil up to our knees

Bring back the days we used to care

When all of these troubles were not there

A cry for  help this is our song

If we do nothing it’ll all be gone

Verse 3

Om shallow waters I can’t see

The wondrous life God created to be

But tankers and pipelines keep coming through

I turned my head and so did you

Bridge

Come with me to the emerald sea

Where black gold spills into my ocean dreams

Nothing to be found

No life is around

It’s just the sound of mourning in the air

Silence everywhere

Prechorus, chorus.

________________

Good on you, Ta’Kaiya!  I pray that more First Nations would rise up and lead.  We Euros now need to follow.  First Nations’ people can teach us, we must be humble and learn.

And save Mother Earth before Mr. Corporation / Agent Smith destroys everything!

Cheers,

Dimitri

About sleepless in turtle island

Hi, I´m Dimitri. I have lived in Turtle Island for awhile now, so my cultural understanding is slowly improving. Also, I can see things in this place that boggle my mind. Thus this blog...
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

