The Culture of Violence in Turtle Island (US & Canada)

I write this after the Connecticut primary school shooting. Outside my home, we have an auto dealership flying its huge national flag at half mast. People are mourning all over the place, including where I live, the Coast Salish Territories of North-Western Turtle Island (Canada).

I used to hate Americans and think we Canadians were much nicer, more ethical folks. Then I read the real Turtle Island history, especially the parts about we Europeans murdering First Nations left, right and centre. That opened my eyes, and made me realise that we Euros here in Turtle Island are all corrupt. Not in the lame, mamby-pampy “all have sinned and fallen short of the glory of God” phrase that the Evangelicals like to throw out as an excuse for mass murder. The nations of Canada and the US were founded on the genocide of tens of millions of indigenous peoples, and the enslavement of others (Africans, Chinese, Hawaiians, etc). We were born in blood-shed. The blood of the victims is crying out from the ground, and the Creator of heaven and earth will not ignore these pleas. After swallowing these bitter reality pills, I stopped looking down on Americans and started believing that we Turtle Island Euros need our heads and hearts examined.

Because we have bred a culture of violence. It’s everywhere. It’s government-sanctioned. It’s encouraged by the media. Every kid is brainwashed into it. And precious few counter it.

Damn, I want to be one of those precious few. I want to stand and say, “ENOUGH!” Let us renounce our culture of violence and greed. Let us stop worshipping the Golden Calf of materialism. Let us stop equating manliness with the tip of a gun barrel. Enough already!

We need a Revolution of Non-Violence!

We need some Gandhis, some Dorothy Days, some Martin Luther King Jrs, some Mozis, some like the non-violent Anabaptists, Quakers, Jains, etc.

We need people with guts. With the will to stop the Machine, the Machine of Constant Violence.

We need Peacemakers who are as ferocious as lions.

Will you be one of them?

Will you join me?

– Dimitri

dimitri.pravdin(*a*)mail.ru

Check out this article from the New Yorker entitled “America’s Culture of Violence”.

About sleepless in turtle island

Hi, I´m Dimitri. I have lived in Turtle Island for awhile now, so my cultural understanding is slowly improving. Also, I can see things in this place that boggle my mind. Thus this blog...
This entry was posted in Anti-War, Loving Our Neighbours, Non-Violence, Social Justice, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

