First Nations-Related Movies I’ve Seen – Part 1

As more people are looking at First Nations/Native American issues now that the Idle No More Movement is sweeping the nation and perhaps the globe, movie buffs like me may want to look into films with First Nations-related content.

Here are a few that I’ve seen:

Pow Wow Highway (1989): Great performance by Gary Farmer!  I really admire his quest for spirituality and cultural knowledge, as well as his determination and unbreakable spirit!  Someone put it on Youtube, so check it out!:

 

War Party (1988): Another great movie.  While I don’t condone the violence, as I am an anti-violence/war activist, I can fully understand how shit can hit the fan in the heat of the moment.  A little different scenario in Canada, unlike the US, which seems to have a couple guns per person!  Again, it’s on Youtube:

 

Skins (2004): An eye-opening film about two brothers in the midst of dire conditions.  Here’s the trailer:

 

Clearcut (1991): This movie literally kept me up for a few evenings.  Luckily, it was allegorical, as you can see on the Youtube description, but I’m sure some First Nations people .  Check it out:

 

Smoke Signals (1998): On a lighter note, here is a comedy with a hilarious cast, including TV Arctic Air’s Adam Beach and Coast Salish Territories’ UBC Hospital, Dr. Evan Adams.

Catch some clips on Youtube:

 

Dance Me Outside (1994): Another great dramatic comedy.

More later, gators . . .

Cheers,

Dimitri

About sleepless in turtle island

Hi, I´m Dimitri. I have lived in Turtle Island for awhile now, so my cultural understanding is slowly improving. Also, I can see things in this place that boggle my mind. Thus this blog...
This entry was posted in Canadian Society, First Nations / Native Americans, Movies, Politics - Canada, Politics - International, Politics - US, Social Justice and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

